Raúl Peña (instagram @Research_goes_slowly) got his PhD at the University of Pais Vasco (Spain) in 2004. Then, he did a short post-doc at IRB, Barcelona (Spain) and finally he moved to IMIM (Barcelona, Spain) where actually he still reseaches. He shares his duties as Lab Manager and post-doc researcher at Mechanisms of tumorigenesis and tumor progression Research group in Dr. Antonio García de Herreros´lab. He is focused on the relation between tumor progression and tumor angiogenesis.

1 Are you an early bird or night owl?

Night Owl

2 Are you pro- or anti-pun?

Pro-pun

3 Do you have any pets?

one dog (Rom)

4 Do you have any science-themed home decor?

No

5 Do you prefer cooking or baking?

Both

6 Do you prefer sweet or savory?

Savory

7 Do you speak any other languages?

spanish

8 If you could switch professions, what would you do?

Photographer

9 If you could switch science fields, what field would you want to work in?

Evolution

10 If you got a plane ticket right now, where would it go?

Antarctica

11 If you had one superpower, what would it be?

Read (and change) other people’s mind

12 Is there anything you strongly recommend we watch and/or read and/or listen to?

Akira, the comic and the movie. In this order!!

13 It’s your day off. What do you want to do?

Hyking to a lonely mountain

14 What are three things you can’t live without?

Family, photo camera, any interesting reading

15 What beverage gives you life?

Beer, Mojito

16 What book did you read in school that positively shaped you?

Isaac Asimov’s Foundation

17 What did you want to be when you grew up?

Researcher

18 What drives you and keeps you going?

Curiosity

19 What got you excited in science?

Unsuspected new findings

20 What excites you about science now?

Good ideas!!

21 What is a guilty pleasure of yours?

Chocolate!

22 What is a secret talent of yours?

Patience

23 What is your favorite game?

Tetris

24 What is the last book you read?

Yuval Noah Harari’s Sapiens

25 What is one of the best pieces of advice you’ve received?

Think globally

26 What is something you’ve always wanted to try but you’ve been too scared to do?

Big mountains hyking

27 What is the best advice for your 18 year old self?

Keep doing things (never give up)

28 What is the best way to de-stress?

Go for a walk (wherever)

29 What is the last thing you watched?

Don’t remeber the title, a non interesting movie (I went to sleep)

30 What is the weirdest thing you’ve had in your bag?

Dead insects (love Entomology!!)

31 What is your favorite animal?

Any big beetle

32 What is your favorite book?

Michael Ende´s Momo

33 What is your favorite comfort food?

Indian food

34 What is your favorite day of the year?

Any day spent walking with family or friends

35 What is your favorite plant?

Bonsais (any species)

36 What is your favorite science fact?

Extraplanetary life (pending of confirmation)

37 What is your favorite season?

Spring

38 What is your favorite smell?

Petrichor (after rain smell)

39 What is your favorite sound?

Maybe silence

40 What is your favorite thing about yourself?

My patience

41 What is your favorite word (in any language)?

Begirale (don’t sure if it really exist, but it means “the one who looks” in Euskera)

42 What is your proudest moment?

My kids birth

43 What kind of tree would you be?

A cactus

44 What’s the best thing about where you live?

Stillness

45 Tell us something we probably don’t know.

So shy to share those secrets!!

46 Who would you like to see 46 Questions interview next?

@m.arta.za (instagram)